Highlight Links
Disable animations
Text Reader
To use the text reader on the site, download the program.

Contact Information

საქართველოს გენერალური საკონსულო ქ. განჯაში

Chronology of Diplomatic Relations

Diplomatic Relations between Georgia and the Republic of Azerbaijan were established on November 18, 1992.

Fields of Cooperation

Azerbaijan is a strategic partner of Georgia, with whom Georgia enjoys close relations. The dynamics of bilateral visits are active both on legislative and executive levels.

Existing legal framework with Azerbaijan covers more than 100 bilateral and multilateral agreements and regulates almost all areas of cooperation.

There is a free trade regime between Georgia and Azerbaijan, which is legally regulated in both bilateral and multilateral (within GUAM) formats.

Throughout the years, Azerbaijan has remained one of the main trade and economic partner of Georgia. Large investments are made in Georgia by the Azerbaijani companies.

Energy represents one of the key directions of cooperation, which is expressed in jointly implemented significant projects, such as oil pipelines of "Baku-Supsa" and "Baku–Tbilisi–Ceyhan" and The "Baku–Tbilisi–Erzurum " gas pipeline, also high-voltage power line of Gardabani – Samukh. Active interaction is ongoing in the frames of southern energy corridor as well as “Baku–Tbilisi–Kars" railway projects.

Cooperation in the field of tourism is progressing successfully. The number of visitors from the Republic of Azerbaijan increases annually.

The trilateral format of Azerbaijan–Georgia–Turkey is an important political mechanism, which was initiated in 2012 by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs ("Trabzon Declaration"). The trilateral mechanism also covers cooperation at the presidential level, between the parliamentary committees on foreign relations and defense ministers. There also exists the practice of conducting trilateral business forums.

Useful Links

Embassy of republic of Azerbaijan to the Georgia

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Azerbaijan

President of Republic of Azerbaijan

Parliament of Republic of Azerbaijan

Government of Republic of Azerbaijan